SSC CGL 2021 Syllabus

SSC CGL 2021 Syllabus (1)

SSC CGL 2021 Syllabus

The government of India conducts the Staff State Commission- Combined Graduate Level exam or as it is commonly known, the SSC CGL examination for government job aspirants to recruit staff at different positions in the government sector like positions in government offices, ministers and positions in various departments in the government sector.

This exam is conducted every year and is scheduled to take place in Nov-December 2021. For those who have applied for this exam, knowing the syllabus is important to successfully crack the SSC CGL 2021 exam. If you are one of those aspirants of the SSC CGL 2021 examination, this article is for you because here we are going to discuss the syllabus of the SSC CGL 2021 syllabus to help you take the first step towards clearing the examination.

What is the Syllabus for SSC CGL 2021?

SSC CGL 2021 examination will be conducted in four tiers— Tier I, Tier II, Tier III and Tier IV. The complete examination is divided in three parts, wherein the Tier I and Tier II are conducted online, Tier III is conducted in pen and paper and Tier IV consists of a computer skill test.

There are some sections which are common to all SSC examinations which are also part of the SSC CGL examination. We will have a look at the Tier wise syllabus of the SSC CGL 2021 exam.

The Tier I of the SSC CGL 2021 carries a weightage of 200 marks and consists of 100 questions which you have to attempt. These questions are further divided into four sections, with each of them carrying 25 questions and 50 marks. These four sections are—reasoning ability, general knowledge, quantitative aptitude and English comprehension.

Tier II consists of four exams which are conducted online. This tier of the SSC CGL 2021 has 100 or 200 questions and carries 200 marks. There are again four sections in this tier including quantitative ability, statistics, English language and comprehension and general studies including finance and economy.

Tier III of the SSC CGL 2021 is the offline pen and paper part of the examination in which the writing skills of the candidates are tested and it will be conducted in either Hindi or English language and consists of 100 marks. It will be a descriptive paper in which you would have to attempt questions like essay writing, letter writing or application writing.

Tier IV of the SSC CGL 2021 exam will test your computer skills. This part of the exam is conducted in two parts— the first part consists of the skill test in data entry or DEST test, the second part consists of the computer proficiency test or CPT test. In the DEST test, the candidates are asked to type 2000 words in 15 minutes which tests the candidate’s typing skills. In the CPT test, the candidate’s word processing skills are tested through spreadsheets and slides.

Knowing the syllabus will help you manage your time while studying and decide which areas you need to spend more time on. This will also help you to practice and set a timetable which would help you focus on each topic separately which is necessary as each section carries different weightage of marks.

Leave a Reply

Capsule Course


Sign up to our newsletter for regular updates and more.

Request a Call Back

%d bloggers like this: