Kerala Geography for Kerala PSC: Lakes of Kerala

Kerala Geography for Kerala PSC: Lakes of Kerala
Kerala PSC Exams

Kerala Geography for Kerala PSC: Lakes of Kerala

  • Kerala is known as the ‘land of backwaters’ Kerala 
  • There are 34 backwaters or ‘kayals’ in Kerala.
  • 27 backwaters are connected with the sea
  • The largest lake in Kerala: Vembanadu Lake
  • Largest freshwater lake in India: Shasthamkotta Lake
  • Smallest fresh water lake in India Pookkodu lake  
  • Northern most back water is: Uppala Lake
  • First man made fresh water lake in Kerala: Mananchira lake, Kozhikodu
  • Lake in the shape of heart situated at Chempra, Wayanadu 
  • The lake called gateway to the backwaters of Kerala: Ashtamudi lake
  • Lake in the shape of palm Ashtamudi Lake  
  • Ashtamudi lake is situated in: Kollam district
  • Second largest lake in Kerala is: Ashtamudi lake 
  • Ashtamudi lake meets Arabian sea at: Neendakara
  • Kerala’s first sea plane service started in Ashtamudi lake  (2013, June)
  • Perumon tragedy in 1988 took place in Ashtamudi Lake
  • Lake which is called as Queen of Back waters in Kerala: Ashtamudi lake 
  • Lake in the shape of F alphabet: Ashmatamudi 
  •  Ashtamudi means ‘eight braids’.
  • First Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) certified fishery in India: Ashtamudi lake
  • The first Marine Stewardship Council certified fishery in India:  Ashtamudi Lake 
  • River that debouches into the Ashtamudi wetland at Peringalam in Kollam: Kallada  
  • President’s trophy boat race is held in: Ashtamudi lake 
  • Lakes in Kerala included in Ramsar list: Vembanad, Ashtamudi, Sasthamkotta
  • The important islands in Ashtamudi Backwater are:Munrothuruth, Pezhumthuruth, Pattamthuruth, Neettumthuruth, Puthenthuruth, Poothuruth, Pannaykkathuruth, Veluthuruth, Neeleswaram thuruth, Palliyam thuruthu etc. 
  • Southern most freshwater lake in Kerala: Vellayani lake
  • Southernmost lake in Kerala: Veli
  • Highest lake in Kerala: Pookkodu lake 
  • Pookkodu lake is in: Wayanadu
  • Northernmost lake: Uppala Lake
  • Muriyad, Manakkodi, Enamakkal lakes are in: Thrissur
  • Kumbala, Uppala and Kalanadu lakes are in: Kasargode
  •  Veli, Vellayani, Aakulam, Anchuthengu Lakes are in : Thiruvananthapuram
  • Varapuzha and Kodugallor Lakes are in: Ernakulam
  • Lakes located at the boundary of Thiruvananthapuram and Kollam: Edava and Paravur 
  • Nehru trophy boat race is held in: Punnamada kayal

Leave a Reply

Capsule Course


Sign up to our newsletter for regular updates and more.

Request a Call Back

%d bloggers like this: