Kerala Administrative Services Examination Prelims: Kerala History- Syllabus, Question Paper and Answer Key

Kerala Administrative Services Examination Prelims Kerala History- Syllabus, Question Paper and Answer Key
Kerala Administrative Service

Kerala Administrative Services Examination Prelims: Kerala History- Syllabus, Question Paper and Answer Key

Kerala History is the most important subject for both prelims and Mains Examination of KAS. In both preliminary exams conducted by Kerala PSC, the total number of questions coming from Kerala History portions are 10.

Kerala History: KAS Syllabus

Pre-Independence socio-political movements. Formation of Kerala State, Political parties, movements, Governments, Landmark legislation and policies.

Kerala PSC Kerala Administrative Service Prelims Examination on February, 2020

1.    Which among the following is not a work of Pandit Karuppan?

(A)        Anandasutram

(B)        Lankamardanam

(C)        Sthothramandaaram

(D)        Acharabhooshanam

2.    Consider the following pairs:

Organization- Founder

1.     Vidyaposhini- Sahodaran Ayyappan

2.     Ananda Maha Sabha- Vagbhadananda

3.    Which of the pairs given above is/are correctly matched?

(A)  1 only

(B)  2 only

(C)  Both 1 and 2

(D)  Neither 1 nor 2

3.    Consider the following statements:

1.     She was nominated to Cochin legislative assembly to advise about the Namboothiri Bill.

2.     She was an elected member of Malabar District Board

3.     She was related with Paliyam Satyagraha

4.     She wrote the book ‘Akalathiruttu’.

Which among the above statement/statements regarding Arya Pallom is/are correct?

(A)  1 only

(B)  1 and 2 only

(C)  1, 2 and 3 only

(D)  All of the above

4.    With reference to the Cochin Nair Act of 1937-38, consider the following statements:

1.     It abolished Marumakkathayam and joint families.

2.     It prohibited the marriage of a female less than 16 years of age and male less than 21 years of age.

3.     It also prohibited the practice of polygamy.

Which of the statement/statements given above is/are correct?

(A)  1 only

(B)  2 only

(C)  3 only

(D)  All of the above

5.    Name the former Chief Minister of Kerala who got opportunity to become member of Cochin Praja Mandal, Thiru-Kochi, Kerala Legislative Assemblies and Rajya Sabha.

(A)  EMS Namboothiripad

(B)  R. Sankar

(C)  C. Achutha Menon

(D)  K. Karunakaran

6.    The Kerala Panchayat Raj Bill 1994 was passed by the assembly during the tenure of which Minister for Local Administration:

(A)  M.K. Munir

(B)  C.T. Ahammadali

(C)  V.J. Thankappan

(D)  K. Balakrishna Pillai

7.    Regarding the second coalition ministry of EMS Namboothiripad, consider the following


1.     The Ministry took office in the year 1966.

2.     It consisted of CPI(M), CPI, the Muslim League, the RSP, the Karshaka Thozhilali Party and the Kerala Socialist Party.

3.     C.H. Muhammed Koya was the Minister for Education.

Which of the above statements are correct?

(A)  1 and 2

(B)  1 and 3

(C)  2 and 3

(D)  None of the above

8.    The person who resigned from the Aikya Kerala Committee with the belief that State headed by a Rajapramukh will not be helpful to the formation of a democratic State.

(A)  K.P. Kesava Menon

(B)  K. Kelappan

(C)  T. Prakasam

(D)  T.K. Madhavan

9.    Which among the following political parties participated in the Vimochana Samaram?

(A)  PSP

(B)  RSP

(C)  None of the above

(D)  Both of the above

10.  Name the first MLA who lost the seat as a result of a court order.

(A)  Bhargavi Thankappan

(B)  M. Umesh Rao

(C)  Rosamma Chacko

(D)  Rosamma Punnose


1. A

2. A

3. C

4. C

5. C

6. B

7. B

8. B

9. A

10. D

KAS Question papers of the Gazetted Teachers’- Stream 3 supplementary test conducted on December 2020

1.    Match List I with List II and select the correct answer by using the codes given below the lists :

 List I                                  List II

 a)   K. Ayyappan                   1)    Sarvamatha Samarasyam

 b)   Vaghbhatanandan        2)    Swedeshabhimani

 c)   Chattampi Swamikal   3)    Atmavidya Kahalam

 d)   Vakkam Moulavi           4)    Sahodaran

         Codes :

(A)        a – 2 b – 4 c – 1 d – 3

(B)        a – 4 b – 3 c – 1 d – 2

(C)        a – 3 b – 4 c – 2 d – 1

(D)        a – 4 b – 1 c – 3 d – 2

 2.   Consider the following statements about the All-Kerala Political Conference held in 1928

 1)   The conference was held at Payyannur

 2)   Jawaharlal Nehru was the President of the Conference

 3)   It was the second All Kerala Political Conference

 4)   It passed a resolution requesting Indian National Congress to adopt complete independence as the goal of the National Movement

         Which of the above statements are correct?

(A)        2, 3 and 4

(B)        1, 2 and 3

(C)        1, 2 and 4

(D)        1, 2, 3 and 4

 3.   Which of the following Act made any transfer of land owned by a member of Scheduled Tribe to a person other than a member of Scheduled Tribe invalid from 1 January 1960 ?

(A)        The Kerala Scheduled Tribes (Restriction on Transfer of Lands and Restoration of Alienated Lands ) Act, 1975

(B)        The Kerala Scheduled Tribes (Restriction on Transfer of Lands and Restoration of Alienated Lands) Act, 1971

(C)        Kerala Tribal Land Transfer Restriction Act, 1970

(D)        Kerala Tribal Land Transfer Restriction Act, 1971

 4.   In what year was the election to the Kerala Legislative Assembly in which the total number of constituencies was increased to 140 for the first time ?

(A)        1960

(B)        1965

(C)        1970

(D)        1977

 5.   Which of the following statements on The Aikya Kerala Conference held at Trichur is/are correct?

 1)   The Conference was held in 1947

 2)   The President was K. Kelappan

 3)   Maharaja Cochin Sri Kerala Varma attended the Conference

(A)        1 only

(B)        1 and 2 only

(C)        2 and 3 only

(D)        1, 2 and 3

6.    Which Bill was introduced during the first EMS Government to enact a comprehensive legislation relating to agrarian reforms in the State of Kerala?

(A)        The Kerala Agrarian Relations Bill, 1957

(B)        Kerala Agrarian Reform Bill, 1957

(C)        Land Reform Bill, 1958

(D)        Kerala Land and Agrarian Reform Bill, 1958

 7.   Arrange the following in chronological order:

 1)   Muthanaga Struggle

 2)   Save Silent Valley Movement

 3)   Chengara Struggle

 4)   Submission of Kasturirangan Report

(A)        2, 4, 1 and 3

(B)        2, 1, 3 and 4

(C)        1, 2, 4 and 3        

(D)        2, 3, 1 and 4

 8.   Who among the following formed International Pro-India Committee in Zurich?

(A)        V. K. Krishna Menon

(B)        K. B. Menon

(C)        Chempaka Raman Pillai

(D)        M. N. Roy

 9.   Name the Chief Minister of Kerala who translated ‘A Short History of the World’ by H. G. Wells into Malayalam.

(A)        E. M. S.

(B)        C. Achutha Menon

(C)        E. K. Nayanar

(D)        P. K. Vasudevan Nair

 10. When did Union Cabinet grant classical status to Malayalam language?

(A)        2010

(B)        2012

(C)        2013

(D)        2015

Answer key

1.    B

2.    C

3.    A

4.    D

5.    D

6 .   A

7.    B

8.    C

9.    B

10.  C

Leave a Reply

Capsule Course


Sign up to our newsletter for regular updates and more.

Request a Call Back

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
  • Attributes
  • Custom attributes
  • Custom fields
Click outside to hide the compare bar
Wishlist 0
Open wishlist page Continue shopping
%d bloggers like this: