History notes for Kerala PSC: Delhi

History notes for Kerala PSC Delhi
Kerala PSC Exams

History notes for Kerala PSC: Delhi


Delhi first became the capital of a kingdom undernTomara Rajputs. Coins minted in Delhi that had a wide circulation are called Dehliwal. Turkish conqueror, Mahmud of Ghazni, established a huge empire in Central Asia, with its capital at Ghazni, the present-day South Kabul. The first ruler to get the title of “Sultan” Mahmud Ghazni. 17 times, he attacked India during the period between 1000 and 1027 AD

Slave dynasty (1206-1290)

  • The first Battle of Tarain was fought in 1191 between:

Prithviraj Chauhan and Mohammed Ghori 

  • In the second Battle of Tarain in 1192, Mohammed Ghori defeat:

Prithviraj Chauhan

  • Slave dynasty was also known as:

 Mamluk dynasty or Ghulam Dynasty    

  • Slave dynasty was established by:

 Qutb ud-din Aibak 

  • The first dynasty known as Delhi Sultanate:

Slave Dynasty 

Qutb ud-Din Aibak (1206 – 1210)

  • First ruler of the Mamluk Dynasty:

Qutb ud- Din Aibak 

  • Delhi Sultan known as Lakh Bash (Giver of Lakhs):

Qutb ud- Din 

  • Sold as a slave to Muhammad Ghori.
  • Aibak is Ghori’s trusted general and commander.
  • He was given the charge of Delhi after:


  • Aibak declared himself Sultan of Delhi, after the death of Ghori in:


  • The first Islamic monuments in northern India, which was built by Aibak:

Quwwat-ul-Islam mosque in Delhi.

  • The construction of  Qutub Minar in Delhi was began by: 

Qutb ud- Din Aibak 

  • He was also known as for his generosity. However, he was also responsible for the destruction and desecration of many Hindu temples.
  • Delhi Suthan, died after falling down from a horse while playing chaugan (a form of polo):

Qutb ud- Din Aibak 

  • He was succeeded by Aram Shah.

Iltutmish (1211 – 1236)

  • Aram Shah was a weak ruler and was succeeded by:


  • Iltutmish was a son-in-law of: 

Qutb ud- Din Aibak.

  • The greatest of the slave rulers of Delhi:


  • Sultan who shifted his capital from Lahore to Delhi:


  • Delhi sultan who completed the construction of the Quwwat-ul-Islam mosque and the Qutb Minar: 


  • The silver introduced by Iltumish: 


  • The copper introduced by Iltumish:


  • The Iqtadari system in which the kingdom was divided into Iqtas was introduced by:


  • Iltumish  was succeeded by his daughter:

Razia Sultana 

 Razia Sultana (1236 – 1240)

  • The first and last Muslim woman ruler of Delhi:

Razia Sultana 

  • Razia Sultana was known as:

 Razia al-Din.

  • Razia Sultan was Succeeded by:

Muizuddin Bahram Shah 

Ghiyas ud din Balban (1266 – 1287)

  • The next notable ruler after Razia:

Ghiyas ud din Balban 

  • The original name of Ghiyas ud din Balban was: 


  • Delhi sultan who introduced  the Persian festival of Navroz in India:


  • Ghiyas ud din Balban was succeeded by: 


  • Qaiqubad died of a stroke in 1290 and was succeeded by his three-year-old son:

 Shamsuddin Kayumars

  • Kayumars was murdered by:

 Jalal ud-Din Firuz Khalji

Khilji Dynasty

  Jalal-ud-din Firoz Khilji (1290- 1296)

  • The founder of Khilji Dynasty:

Jalal-ud-din Firoz Khilji 

  • As he followed peace and wanted to rule without violence, Jaj- ud- din Firoz Khilji was known as:

“Clemency Jalal-uddin”  or ‘Saint ruler’

  • The real name of Jalal- ud- din Firoz Khilji:

Malik Feroz Khilji

  • Malik Chhajju’s revolt at Kara was suppressed by:

Jalal-ud-din Firoz Khilji 

  • Nephew of  Jalal-ud-din Firoz Khilji  who was appointed as the Governor of Kara.:

Ala-ud-din Khilji 

  • Jalal-ud-din was treacherously murdered by:

 Ala-ud-din Khilji 

Alauddin Khilji (1296- 1316)

  • In 1296 A.D. Ala-ud-din Khilji succeeded Jalal-ud-din Firoz Khilji.
  • Ala-ud-din Khiliji’s generals who conquered Gujarat:

Ulugh Khan and Nusrat Khan

  • The first Sultan who attacked South India:

Ala-ud-din Khilji

  • He sent his confidante and general Malik Kafur against the rulers of the south.
  • Prataprudra-II of Warangal, Ramachandra Deva, the Yadava king of Devagiri, and Vira Ballala-III the Hoysala king was defeated by:

Ala-ud-din Khilji

  • Delhi sultan who construct Mosque in Rameswaram:

Ala-ud-din Khilji 

  • Ala-ud-din followed:

 Divine Right Theory of Kingship.

  • Officers called Diwan-i-riyasat in the offices called Shahana-i-mandi to standardize the market were appointed by:

Ala-ud-din Khilji 

  • Who constructed Alai Darwaza, the Palace of a thousand pillars and the Fort of Siri: 

Ala-ud-din Khilji 

  • Ala-ud-din Khilji  was succeeded by: 

Qutb-ud-din Mubarak Shah (1316-1320) and Nasir-ud-din Khusrav Shah (1320) 

Tughlaq Dynasty

  • In1320 A.D. the Governor of Punjab Ghazi Malik conquered Delhii and found:

Tughlaq Dynasty .

  • Ghazi Malik assumed the name:

 ‘Ghiyas-ud-din Tughluq’ 

Ghiyas-ud-din Tughluq or Ghazi Malik (1320 – 1325)

  • Ghiyas-ud-din Tughluq or Ghazi Malik was the founder of:

 Tughluq dynasty.

  • Ghiyas-ud-din Tughluq was succeeded by:


Muhammad-bin-Tughlaq (1325-1361)

  • In 1325 A.D. Junakhan,  sworn the title:


  • He shifted his capital from Delhi to:


  • After many difficulties he ordered them to return to Delhi.
  • Tughlaq ruler who introduced the copper currency system: 


  • To avoid Mongol Invasion Mohammed-bin-Tughluq had to present huge present to:


  • Mohammed-bin-Tughluq’s domestic policies were good but due to faulty implementation measures, they failed, so he is often called as:

Wisest Fool

Firoz Tughlaq (1351-1 388)

  • In 1351 Ghiyas-ud-din Tughlaq was succeeded by: 

Firoz Tughlaq 

  • Delhi sultan who withdrew all Taquavi (agricultural) loans granted by Mohammed-bin-Tughlaq:

Firoz Tughlaq

  • The important taxes collected by Firoz Tughlaq are: 

Kharaj, Khams, Jizya, Zakat

  • Towns like Firozabad, Hissar, Jaunpur, and Fatehabad was built by: 

Firoz Tughlaq

  • The hospitals established by Firoz Tughlaq:


  • The  Marriage Bureau established by Firoz Tughlaq:


  • The Delhi sultan who established employment bureau:

Firoz Tughlaq

  • The Center  established by Firoz Tughlaq to give financial aid to the poor:


  • Delhi sultan who devastated the Jagannath Temple at Puri:

Firoz Tughlaq

  • The autobiography of Firoz Tughlaq: 

Futuhat-i-Firoz Shahi 

  • Successors of Firoz Tughlaq are:

Ghiyas-ud-din Tughlaq Shah II, Abu Bakr Shah, Nasir-ud-din Mohammed Tughlaq

  • Timur the ruler of Samarkand invaded India during the period of: 

Nasir-ud-din Mohammed Tughlaq,

  • Timur captured Delhi in:


Sayyid Dynasty (1414- 1451)

  • The founder of Sayyid Dynasty:

Khizr Khan 

  • Khizr Khan was succeeded by his son: 

Mubarak Shah 

  • The is first Sultan ruler to appoint Hindu nobles in the court of Delhi: 

Mubarak Shah .

  • Mubarak Shah  constructed “Mubarakbad” City on the banks of the river:


  • Sayyid ruler who conferred Bahlul Lodi with the title ‘Khan-i-Khanan’ for helping in defeating the ruler of Malwa: 

Muhammad Shah

  • The last ruler of Sayyid Dynasty who was defeated by Bahlul Lodi the Governor of Lahore in 1457:

Ala-ud-din Shah  

Lodi Dynasty (1451 – 1526)

  • Bahlul Lodi was the founder of:

 Lodi Dynasty.

  • The last ruling dynasties of the Sultanate period:

Lodi Dynasty 

  • The wise Lodi ruler who never sat on the throne and used to sit on the carpet in front of the throne:

Bahlul Lodi

  • Lodi ruler who put severe restrictions on the Hindus: 

Sikandar Shah

  • A work on music names “Lahjati-Sikandar Shahi” was created during the reign of: 

Sikandar Shah

  • Sikhandar Lodi was succeeded by:

Ibrahim Lodi

  • The most powerful noble of Punjab, who invited Babur the ruler of Kabul to invade India:

Daulat Khan

  • Babur invaded India and defeated Ibrahim Lodi in the first battle of Panipat in:


Leave a Reply

Capsule Course


Sign up to our newsletter for regular updates and more.

Request a Call Back

%d bloggers like this: