100 years of Chauri Chaura Incident 

100 years of Chauri Chaura Incident

100 years of Chauri Chaura Incident 

Mahatma Gandhi and Indians were engaged in a nationwide non-cooperation movement from 1920 onwards.  Indians, led by Mahatma Gandhi, were engaged in a . These non-violent protests were organised by the Indian National Congress. The aim of the protest was to challenge oppressive government regulatory measures such as the Rowlatt Act and for Independence.

On 2 February 1922, volunteers participating in the non-cooperation movement protested against high food prices and liquor sales at Gauri Bazaar. The protest was led by Bhagwan Ahir, a retired soldier. The leaders were arrested and protestors were beaten by the inspector Gupteshwar Singh and other police officers.  In response to this, a protest against the police was organised on 4 February. 

On 4 February, approximately 2,000 to 2,500 protesters assembled and picket the Gauri Bazaar Liquor Shop, shouting anti-British slogans. In an attempt to disperse the crowd, the sub-inspector Prithvi Pal ordered the police to open fire on the crowd, killing three and wounding several others. In response the protestors attacked and set fire to a police station, killing three civilians and 22 policemen.

Mahatma Gandhi was strictly against this violence, thus he halted the non-cooperation movement on the national level. On 12 February 1922, the Indian National Congress suspended the non-cooperation movement. The direct result of this was the Chauri Chaura tragedy.

A total of 228 people were brought to trial in the incident. Out of which 19 were sentenced to death. In 1924 at Chauri Chaura, the British erected a memorial for the dead policemen. In 1973, to commemorate the 19 tried and executed people, the Chauri Chaura Shaheed Smarak Samiti was built. Later, in 1990, the Indian railways named a train as Chauri Chaura Express that runs from Gorakhpur to Kanpur. 

Leave a Reply

Capsule Course


Sign up to our newsletter for regular updates and more.

Request a Call Back

%d bloggers like this: